Hi, my name is Pete. I’m 40 years old, 6’1 and this morning I tipped the scales at 137.5kg or 21.5 stone.

I’ve been trying to lose weight for a few years now with variable results and have finally got myself in the mindset where I have to get the weight off and keep it off.

Unfortunately I love food and I love wine. Previous attempts at weight loss have ultimately failed because I felt that I was depriving myself of things I loved. You can imagine my delight when The Hairy Bikers set themselves the same challenge with the same food loving handicap…. If they can do it, I can bloody well do it too!

So here I sit on the train home from work on day 1 of my new adventure. I had fruit for breakfast, a lunch with many fewer calories than usual and am now armed with The Hairy Dieters’ Cookbook to inspire my dinner. I have some home made chorizo sausages in the fridge.

Let’s see what I come up with…..

