And boy, have I had a good week! I’ve been on the floor with man-flu and on Tuesday night I made a pizza with chips on it.

But mostly, I’ve been good. Mostly.

Before I go on, I’d like to make it clear that a few weeks before I started this blog I was even heavier – 139.5KG to be exact. I’ll try to be clear when discussing current weights, from heaviest and from the start of the mission.

Alton Brown, host of Good Eats and Iron Chef America, is a massive fan of purple smoothies for breakfast. He’s lost 25kg, so I thought I’d add them to my regime for a week to see how things go. Breakfast is the bit I’ve had the most trouble with and usually end up just eating a few breakfast bars and enduring the hunger that follows.

Not any more!

These smoothies last me hours and are super tasty. See if you can find the clip online (the episode of Good Eats is called Live and Let Diet), it contains some really sound scientific advice for losing weight. If you can’t, here’s my recipe:

200ml purple juice (Today is pomegranate)
1 x small probiotic yoghurt drink
Fill blender up to the 600ml mark with frozen dark berries
If you have time, leave to defrost (jump in the shower, for example), then blend on low speed for 30 seconds, then increase speed by 25% twice – a minute at each speed.

Have the smoothies helped? You betchya.

This morning the scales say I have lost 9.6kg since starting this blog. That’s over 1.5 stone! In 6 and a bit weeks with a few bad weeks thrown in. I’ll have cleared 10kg by the end of the weekend.

I can’t find a photo of 10kg of lard right now… but it’s 40 of those 250g blocks you buy in the supermarket. Forty!

Holy crap!

