Good news everybody, I beat my first month goal of losing a stone. Four weeks has seen me lose 7 kilograms which is definitely over a stone.

Have I done this on other weight loss methods? Yes. Have I found them easy? No.

I repeat, no. This, however is a walk in the park.

Today I got a message from a good friend who thinks I should be following the eat less, move more lifestyle change that I initially set out to do. It was my intention all along to lose weight that way and my god I tried and tried again, all the while studying the human body and its various quirks… looking for an understanding of why I was finding it so hard. I haven’t taken his view hard, but feel that It might be an time to share a bit more about why I’ve chosen this method.

I guess what my friend is finding hard to grasp is cheat day, or as we’re calling it, Faturday. Faturday has quite a few scientific reasons behind it and, as it’s working well for me, I’m using it as an experiment day to see what can turbocharge its effect.

The psychological effect that makes Faturday so successful is delayed gratification vs blocked desires. If I fancy fried chicken on Wednesday I just tell myself that I’ll have it Saturday and the desire is gone. I might have it Saturday, I might not – but I can. Today, for example, I had a Krispy Kreme doughnut. I don’t normally like them that much, but I was curious to see if my sweet tooth has been affected by my lack of sugar and although I had the idea on Tuesday, it was no big deal to wait until Faturday.

The physical reason for Faturday is to stop your body from going into starvation mode. Go nuts, and your metabolism follows. I don’t think that needs too much explanation.

As for the whole slow-carb thing, in his book Tim Ferriss talks about discussing the idea with scientific friends who stated that their funding would be at risk if they took the idea too seriously. Nobody should be too surprised to hear this, but an Institute in Israel has taken the idea to the next level. (really worth clicking on)

Tim hooked himself up to a machine normally given to diabetics and studied his insulin levels after everything he ate. He then shared his results with friends and others while looking at their findings, before realising that a lot of westerners have trouble with ingesting white carbs.

Today is my fourth Faturday and I’m still experimenting with it. We drink grapefruit juice before our two main meals and have caffeine and Cissus with it, along with our tension exercises. There was a post on one of my blogs that I can’t find right now extolling the virtues of a block of 65-75% dark chocolate around brunch time. The crux of it is that dark chocolate, being more bitter than sweet, is a natural appetite suppressant and I certainly felt its effects today when I almost had to force myself to eat lunch and now, past 8:30pm, I have no real desire to eat dinner. However, eat dinner I must and there’s a chicken kiev in my near future.

My biggest challenge has been in drinking enough water. Without wanting to be graphic, it’s not just about staying hydrated, but also about aiding the passage of food through your body. When I’m not near a tap all day it’s proving to be something I need to do better.

So, long story short, so long as I’m losing weight or centimetres week after week and enjoying this, I will be keeping on it. My insulin is stable and my moods are wonderful, I’m rarely hungry and my desires don’t have to be delayed for more than a few days.

As for what happens when I hit target weight, I slowly adjust my diet to maintenance mode and make this a lifestyle change. If I put a bit of weight on, I go back to slow carb for a week or two to lose it again. I have no problem with that.

